## Preface



The fourth CBRATEC (IV Congresso Brasileiro de Análise Térmica e Calorimetria) conference joined with the 2<sup>nd</sup> Panamerican Conference on Thermal Analysis and Calorimetry (II Congresso Pan-americano de Análise Térmica e Calorimetria) was held between April 11-14, 2004 in Poços de Caldas, MG. One third of the 300 participants were graduates and PhD students well representing the continuous interest in thermal analysis among Brazil researchers.

The structure of the conference was characteristic and refreshing, since every morning one of the leading Brazil thermoanalysts held an opened teaching course

especially for the representatives of the young generation then plenary lecturers and keynote speakers (S. Vyazovkin, A. Riga, M. Jaroniec, R. Blaine, E. Kapsch) occupied the podium. The afternoon sessions consisted of mainly short lectures and poster exhibitions; both provided excellent possibility for the PhD students to introduce their scientific work.

The scope of the conference covered practically all aspects of thermal analysis.

I feel very honoured to be able to follow the progress and development of the conferences since 1998, when the 1<sup>st</sup> CBRATEC conference was organized. In my opinion, the participation of the young scientists and the organization of teaching courses for them have determining importance. As far as I experienced, the universities pay continuously increasing attention to foreign language education (first of all English), so the communication between the invited international researchers, the representatives of the Instrument companies and the domestic conference attendants became much more efficient in recent years.

As usual, the new Executive Committee was elected during the conference. Prof. Antonio Gouveia de Souza was re-elected as President of ABRATEC supported by the members of the Executive (Lucildes Pita Mercuri, Eder Tadeu Gomes Cavalheiro, Fernando Luis Fertonani, Carlos Braga, Marcelo Zangrando e Elisa Osaki) for the following two years.

In recognition of their outstanding achievements in the work of ABRATEC Honourable Membership was presented to Prof. Lazaro Moscardini d'Assunção, and Prof. Antonio Gouveia de Souza, the first Presidents of ABRATEC by the Thermoanalytical Sub-Branch of the Hungarian Chemical Society during the opening ceremony.

The scientific development and activity in thermoanalytical research that have taken place in Brazil is one of the reasons, why they won the right of organizing of the next ICTAC conference in 2008. Knowing the tiny city, the hospitality of the local people, nobody will be disappointed who visits Poços de Caldas in 2008.

Csaba Novak Editor Arii, T., Tokyo, Japan Badea, M., Bucharest, Romania Batiu, C., Cluj-Napoca, Romania Bayraktar, O., Urla-Izmir, Turkey Bocian, B., Lublin, Poland Brown, M. E., Grahamstown, South Africa Brzyska, W., Lublin, Poland Budrugeac, P., Bucharest, Romania Campostrini, R., Trento, Italy Carp, O., Bucharest, Romania Cheda, J. A. R., Madrid, Spain Chrissafis, K., Thessaloniki, Greece Cieśla, K., Warsaw, Poland Concheiro-Nine, A., Santiago de Compostela, Spain Cowen, J. E., Cleveland, USA Cser, F., Melbourne, Australia Dahiya, J. B., Hisat, Haryana, India Danch, A., Katowice, Poland Drebushchak, V. A., Novosibirsk, Russia Dumbrava, A., Constantza, Romania Dweck, J., Rio de Janeiro, Brazil Fajnor, V. Š., Bratislava, Slovak Republic Ferenc, W., Lublin, Poland Fernando Calvo, L., León, Spain Ferragina, C., Monterotondo (Roma), Italy Franco Duro, F., Málaga, Spain Gajerski, R., Cracow. Poland Györyová, K., Kośice, Slovak Republic Haghi, A. K., Rasht, Iran Icbudak, H., Kurupelit-Samsun, Turkey Izzar, M., Sharnbrook, Beds, UK Jablonski, M., Szczecin, Poland Jakab, E., Budapest, Hungary Jayaweera, S. A. A., Middlesbrough, UK Jóna, E., Púchov, Slovak Republic Kaloustian, J., Marseille, France Kemp, R., Aberystwych, Wales Kodama, M., Kumamoto, Japan Koga, N., Hiroshima, Japan Kök, M. V., Ankara, Turkey Krunks, M., Tallinn, Estonia Kučerík, J., Brno, Czech Republic Kurzawa, M., Szczecin, Poland Kustrowski, P., Cracow, Poland Kwok, Q. S. M., Orenda, Canada Lamprecht, I., Berlin, Germany Langmaier, F., Zlín, Czech Republic Lisa, G., Iasi, Romania Lisnyak, V. V., Kyiv, Ukraine Litwinienko, G., Warsaw, Poland Lőrinczy D., Pécs, Hungary Majchrzak-Kuceba, I., Czêstochowa, Poland Malek, J., Pardubice, Czech Republic Mamleev, V., Almaty, Kazakhstan

Marini, A., Pavia, Italy Marosi G., Budapest, Hungary Martins, J. A., Guimarães, Portugal Masuda, Y., Niigata, Japan Mojumdar, S. C., Ottawa, Canada Mondragon, I., Donostia-San Sebastián, Spain Mucha, M., Łódź, Poland Nad, A. M. A., Cairo, Egypt Nayak, P. L., Cuttak, India Niinistö, L., Espoo, Finland Nishimoto, Y., Tokyo, Japan Pacewska, B., Płock, Poland Pacurariu, C., Timişoara, Romania Pelovski, Y., Sofia, Bulgaria Perez-Magueda, L., Sevilla, Spain Picker-Freyer, K., Halle, Germany Pitkänen, I., Jyväskylä, Finland Pokol, G., Budapest, Hungary Popescu, C., Aachen, Germany Pospíšil, M., Prague, Czech Republic Mrozek-Lyszczek, R., Lublin, Poland Ramis, X., Barcelona, Spain Robens, E., Mainz, Germany Roos, Y. H., Guelph, Canada Saikia, N. J., Tokyo, Japan Sarbak, Z., Poznań, Poland Sbirrazzouli, N., Nice, France Schmidt, A., Innsbruck, Austria Schmidt, P., Dresden, Germany Šesták, J., Pardubice, Czech Republic Shanks, R. A., Melbourne, Australia Sikorska-Iwan, M., Lublin, Poland Šimon, P., Bratislava, Slovak Republic Staszczuk, P., Lublin, Poland Šulcová, P., Pardubice, Czech Republic Suñol, J. J., Girona, Spain Szafran, M., Warsaw, Poland Thomas, P. S., Sidney, Australia Tomaszewicz, E., Szczecin Tonin, C., Biella, Italy Torra, V., Madrid, Spain Van den Mooter, G., Leuven, Belgium Van Ekeren, P. J., Utrecht, The Netherlands Vargha, V., Budapest, Hungary Vassilev, V., Sofia, Bulgaria Villar-Rodil, S., Oviedo, Spain Vyazovkin, S., Birmingham, USA Woo, L., Round Lake, USA Xie, X. Y., Wuhan, P. R. China Yakuphanoglu, F., Elazig, Turkey Yoshida, H., Tokyo, Japan Yuryev, V. P., Moscow, Russia Zaremba, T., Gliwice, Poland Zakrzewski, R., Poznań, Poland